Tribute to the Margarita

When it starts to get warm out, I have a slight problem… I start craving delicious, cold, refreshing margaritas like nobodies business.

Sami also shares my love of tequila

Margaritas are, hands down, my favorite type of cocktail to enjoy in the warmer months. While I lean towards more towards beer (like IPAs and maltier/hoppier brews)  and red wine (like Cab and Syrah) in the fall/winter months, the craving for tequila comes rushing back as soon as t-shirt/dress/sandal season begins. I love my tequila, what can I say.

There is just nothing like enjoying a cold, fresh margarita during happy hour, or anytime really….. YUM.

My favorite margarita is on the rocks and includes a simple mix of a good quality silver tequila (I am not a fan of gold), grand marnier , lime juice and ice. I sometimes like to add some seltzer and orange juice  if I am feeling fancy. I HATE sour mix and think it is completely wrong to include it in the mix. I am all about simplicity here….

My go-to margarita recipe:

  • 1-2 shots silver tequila
  • 1/2-1 shot triple sec
  • fresh lime juice (anywhere from 1/4-1/2 lime depending on how juicy it is)
  • a splash of orange juice
  • a small squeeze of agave or a little stevia (to taste)
  • ice

Options:

  • replace triple sec and orange juice with a splash of grand marnier
  • add some seltzer to make it a little fizzier (original, lime or orange seltzer would work well here….)

My favorite places to get a margarita:

Mad Mex… I love the Chihuaua and the Perfect Patron Margarita and am a sucker for Big Azz flavored ones as well (I was OBSESSED with these during my undergrad career at PITT)

Tamarindos… a local restaurant in my hometown of Ambler, PA. These margaritas will always be my favorite margaritas. They are just so delicious. If you live in the Philly area, I highly recommend this restaurant.

Favorite bottled margarita

Skinnygirl Margarita - it is not mixed with anything crazy and has the simple mix of ingredients and flavors that make a margarita so delicious in the first place. I love adding some fresh lime juice to these and sometimes will add a little seltzer as well. I also am obsessed with Bethenny which probably makes me love these even more….

Recipes to try

I have a “I Love Fun Cocktails” board on Pinterest, and it has just come to my attention that many of them are recipes for margaritas… oops. I really want to try all of them out:

Grapefruit Margarita

Pink Grapefruit Margarita

Orange Ginger Margarita

Strawberry Margarita Jello Shots… in Strawberries (how cute are these!)

Are you a margarita fan? On the rocks? Frozen? Salt or no salt?

If not, what is your cocktail/drink of choice?

5 responses

    • Malibu is definitely perfect for warmer temperatures… and I’ve never heard of Chevy’s, they must not have them in PA :( I just looked at their website though and it defintiely looks like it would be right up my alley…

Leave a Reply

