It’s all about the balance

When it comes to health, I am all about balance. While it is important to eat your greens and fruit and whole grains on a daily basis, it is also important to eat ice cream and chocolate and enjoy some beer and wine from time to time. While it is important to incorporate exercise/daily movement into your life, it is OK to sometimes qualify bar hopping towards your quota or take the day off when you’re just not feeling it.

As long as you are fueling with the good stuff for the majority of the time and treating your body well on a daily basis, there is no reason not to throw caution to the wind and enjoy the HUGE margarita and/or ice cream when you want to. It’s all about having equal love for both the spinach and the mint chocolate chip….

I bring this up because this weekend definitely qualified as a more indulgent weekend for me. I participated in some fun St Patty’s activities on East Carson street ( a street in Pittsburgh that is lined with way too many bars to count), and I thought it could be fun to highlight how I balanced my day/weekend with both healthy eats and some more indulgent treats as well…..anyone else take part in some fun St Patrick’s day festivities?

My weekend included:

Drinks

my fair share of  green drinks

some on the “healthier” end of the spectrum…..

and some with the addition of some tequila… 

Big Azz kiwi margarita at Mad Mex

Green margaritas at Margaritaville!

Food

I balanced out some delicious eats

Lunch at Whole Foods on Saturday before the festivities began....

Breakfast on Sunday was a group effort: fruit bought and chopped by Jon and arranged by yours truly

with some delicious treats….

First Rita's of the season! Gelati with iced coffee cream ice and vanilla custard

There was also some unpictured  pizza, buffalo potato chips and caramel popcorn consumed throughout the weekend as  well…..

Exercise

  • BodyAttack on Saturday morning
  • Bar hopping/walking on Saturday afternoon
  • Plenty of laziness of Sunday….

So it basically was a great weekend, and I wish I could rewind and do it again…. Why must it be Monday morning right now?

He loves me, I swear

How was your weekend/St Patrick’s day?

How do you incorporate balance in your life?

 

One response

  1. I completely agree. When I first got on my healthy living kick, I felt like I had to deprive myself of fun social things (nachos during a football game, happy hour with friends) to be healthy. I’ve found a lot of healthy alternatives now that I actually prefer, but I am so much happier when I have ice cream cake, wine and buttery biscuits interspersed with my kale, oatmeal and bananas.

Leave a Reply

