Family Quirks + the BEST salad dressing recipe

Since going away to college and then living away from home, I have come to realize some odd quirks/habits my family has. Sometimes it takes a little time apart to see things from a different perspective. Some examples…..

  • We refer to all beverages that we drink as “drink.” For example, if my mom wants someone to pass her the iced tea during dinner she will say, “Can I have the drink.” Or in general, if someone is thirsty, they will say, “I need drink.” I feel like this is odd….
  • We have “clothes parties” at my house, meaning, my mom wants us to come downstairs and help her fold the laundry and take it upstairs. These “parties” started when I was about 10 in order for my parents to inspire my sisters and I to help with the laundry, but my mom still implements the term (even though I am 23 and do my own laundry…). The “parties” usually only revolve around towels these days….
  • We always have this one homemade dressing that is always made/kept in the house. We refer to it as “house dressing” (like Italian restaurants do), and you can always find it in our pantry. It is my FAVORITE kind of dressing, but I will only eat it at home. It is so simple to make, but it doesn’t taste the same unless my mom makes it….

I am sure we have plenty more “quirks,” but I’ll leave it at that for now…. Any weird habit/quirks that you/your family have and/or participate in? I know I am not the only one!

Since the “house dressing” I mentioned above is so delicious and so amazing, I thought I’d share the recipe. I just watched my mom make a fresh batch yesterday, so I took note of the ingredients. You probably already have most of the ingredients in your house already, so go make this ASAP! It’s so good!

My lunch from yesterday using said dressing... so good

“House Dressing”

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tsp minced garlic

Directions:

Whisk all ingredients together in small bowl until blended together. Store in any type or resealable bottle and/or tupperware container. Pour on any type of vegetable and enjoy!

Have a nice day everyone!

What odd quirks does your family have?

What is your favorite type of salad dressing (homemade orĀ  purchased)? Please share!

4 responses

  1. You know my family’s quirks better than anyone….but “drink” is way more legitimate than “cream rinse” for conditioner or “pocket-book” for purse.

    And as you and Sam Sam taught me…the quirks (or in my case, awkwardness) is part of our charm

Leave a Reply

