Back to work

Hello again! I hope you are having a great Wednesday so far!

Soooo today is my first day back at work since the holidays.  It was suprisingly eaiser to wake up and get back into my normal routine than I originally expected. Even though it is nice to have time off and relax, I usually crave routine and love to be busy, so its kind of nice to be back to my normal schedule.  Although I did not enjoy having to wear snow boots with my dress pants and look like a freak waiting for the bus in the 10 degree temperature this morning (It is sooo cold in Pittsburgh today!), I am going  to focus on the fact that its nice to be back and not on the fact that I am going to avoid going outside at all costs today. I need to learn some tips on how to enjoy cold weather…. any suggestions??

I thought I’d include a random picture of my outfit today…

Anyway, one thing I kind of look forward to at the beginning of each week and especially after a long break is getting back on track with healthy eating. One thing that makes me oddly excited is prepping my meals and snacks for the week. Does anyone else get excited to make their lunch for work/school? I think I may be somewhat alone on this?  There is something about knowing that I have something healthy and delicious waiting for me in the fridge that helps me get through the morning.

 
I also feel the same way about snacks and always have many options on hand. My snack drawer is usually pretty out of control with different combinations of trail mix, granola bars, fruit, etc.  I’m a big fan of roasted unsalted pistachios at the moment and most likely will be having some of those later…  I also just discovered that snack size plastic baggies exist. Why did I not know about this until now?? 
 

I dont know if I will be posting my meals on here (I’m kind of just testing out different things right now  to see how it goes), but since it is my first day back at work and since Im rather excited for lunch I thought I’d share….

Today I made a big spinach salad with lots of different veggies, chickpeas, white beans, and brown rice. I tend to make a lot of combinations like these for lunch (veggies + some kind of protein + some type of grain). I also made my own dressing with some balsamic vinegar, olive oil, honey, and ginger and had an apple on the side.

Anyway, just thought I’d check in. I hope everyone has a great rest of the day!

Questions: Does anyone have any tips on how to learn to enjoy winter/colder temperatures? What did you eat for lunch today?

3 responses

  1. While the cold might leave your nose looking like rudolph and your fingers feeling like they may fall off, a good pair of gloves, hat and boots go a long way in keeping positive through the colder temperatures (after all, I went to college in the poconos, where every day it seemed like 10 degrees). Winter sports and warm beverages also make the cold months a little more bearable! Try skiing, or snowboarding. It’s both fun, and a great leg workout!

  2. Pingback: A new lunch packing adventure « Apples and Optimism

Leave a Reply

