Personality and Career

On one  random Saturday a few months ago, I randomly decided to take a personality test in Barnes & Noble . I found the test in the career/self-help section, which is a section I really like to look through, although it sometimes makes me a little hyper-aware of what others are thinking when I’m picking up books about how to find “true happiness” or “change you life in 7 steps.” Nothing wrong with trying to better yourself, right?

Anyway, back to the test. This particular test gave you your personality type and also suggested suitable career options according to personality type. I usually get bored with long tests like this and tend to give up before finding our my results (or just skip to the results and pick the one I like best), but for some reason, I was feeling inspired, and I completed the entire test. 

So I found out that I am supposedly  a ISFJ (Introverted, Senser, Feeler, Judger) and tend to be:

1) extremely interested and in-tune with how other people are feeling

2)  enjoy creating structure and order, and are extremely good at it.

ISFJ’s also tend to have the following traits:

  • Large, rich inner store of information which they gather about people
  • Highly observant and aware of people’s feelings and reactions
  • Excellent memory for details which are important to them
  • Very in-tune with their surroundings – excellent sense of space and function
  • Can be depended on to follow things through to completion
  • Stable, practical, down-to-earth – they dislike working with theory and abstract thought
  • Dislike doing things which don’t make sense to them
  • Value security, tradition, and peaceful living
  • Service-oriented: focused on what people need and want
  • Kind and considerate
  • Likely to put others’ needs above their own
  • Learn best with hands-on training
  • Enjoy creating structure and order
  • Extremely uncomfortable with conflict and confrontation

http://www.personalitypage.com/html/ISFJ_car.html

I was told that many health-related careers that I was already considering were well suited for me including both  counseling and dietetics.  Counseling was actually rated as one of the most “highly enjoyed” careers for someone with a personality like mine (Side note: the ministry had the highest “enjoyment rating” for ISFJs…not so sure I would agree with that one). 

It was pretty crazy to me that a simple test produced such spot-on results. I basically agreed with everything the test said about me, which got me thinking: Are we all best suited for certain careers because of our personalities? If you hate your job is it maybe that the tasks that are required of you do not match with you best assets? Are the most successful people the ones that have figured this out and have found careers that match their best qualities?

This is just a thought, and while I realize that much more goes into career choices and life choices other than personality traits,  I still found it pretty interesting. I think it can be helpful to know of your strengths and weaknesses when looking for a job, so I found this test to be pretty helpful. I’m interested to hear what others think about this.

If you are curious about your own personality type, this test will give you your result (it’s not the test I completed but the questions appear similar. If you don’t feel like taking the test and would rather read through the different types, This link describes the 16 types. Let me know your result! 

Questions: Do you think your career/chosen career path fits your personality well? Do you think that finding out your personality type is beneficial in choosing a career? What personality type are you (according to the test)/ Do you agree?

2 responses

  1. This Jungian type survey got me thinking about my personality and if I will make a good nurse. According to this I should screw the nursing and be a doctor. Great. More school.

    I’m an ISTJ, just in case you were curious.

Leave a Reply

