An oatmeal transportation issue….

At work, every time we hire a new employee, we have a “welcome potluck” for him/her.  About a month ago, we had a new employee join our staff, so we had the official breakfast potluck for her this morning.

When the sign-up sheet was being passed around last week, there was a group consensus that we bring alternate options other than the “normal” breakfast foods like donuts and pastries. (I work with mostly women and the New Years resolutions are still in full swing…).

I, of course, was on board with this idea since I, first of all, don’t understand the concept of donuts for breakfast (a sugary baked good first thing in the morning is good in theory, but the sugar crash that accompanies it is not appreciated), and secondly, I know that there are so many other delicious breakfast foods out there to enjoy (yogurt, oatmeal, fruit, granola…)!

My first thought was to bring oatmeal in a crock pot (since our office has no kitchen… or windows) and bring fun mix-ins like peanut butter, dried fruit, bananas…(I think I have some kind of subconscious desire to show people how delicious oatmeal can be), but then I remembered:

1. It would be ridiculously heavy to transport

2 I ride a city bus to work… that is extremely crowded during morning rush hour

3. I am one of the clumsiest people alive and most likely should not be trusted with a crock pot full of oatmeal

So I had to come up with a Plan B.  Sticking with the oatmeal theme, I decided that oatmeal-based granola bars would be a close enough replacement and would also be a bit easier to transport. Plus, since granola bars usually have so many unnecessary ingredients and tend to be loaded with sugar, I thought this would stick with the healthy breakfast potluck theme quite nicely.

picture from original recipe

I ended up making these, after drooling over all of my options on Food Gawker (that site is SO addicting), and they turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly (I used pecans, walnuts, dried cranberries and dried apricots as my mix-ins), and was pleasantly surprised with how delicious they turned out to be.

If you are looking for an easy, delicious granola bar recipe, I highly recommend these.

Have a great Tuesday!

One response

Leave a Reply

