Lunch packing day 2

Happy Friday! Anyone else excited for the weekend?

Although this week was only 4 days, it has felt so long! I am definitely excited to have a couple of days off. This snow that seems to be happening better stop though. I have come to the conclusion that snow is no longer fun when you join the “real world.” All the anticipation and hoping for the school announcement of a snow day is gone (I used to love when my mom would come in my room and tell me to turn my alarm off..). Now it is just an inconvenience  (it might also not help that I am NOT a fan of cold weather… annnd my negativity is probably stemming from the fact that my fingers are all numb from getting the ice off my car). 

Anyway, moving on….

 Before my weekend begins I must first:

1. Get through the work day

2. Go to my first chemistry class…

So with another day of class comes another day of meal packing!  I actually got  lucky today because I am going to a training session for work at noon and lunch is provided.  That means one less meal to pack….

So  meal prep for today was a little easier since I only had to have dinner and snacks prepared:

Dinner:

For dinner tonight, I packed myself a goat cheese, jelly, and spinach sandwich. Typing that out makes it sound a little weird, but I am a big fan of salty/sweet so I think it should be rather delicious. I also packed some veggies on the side (carrots, snap peas, celery) and an apple.

(1) whole wheat bread (grains)

(2) goat cheese (protein)

(3) spinach, carrots, snap peas, celery (veggies)

Snacks:

My snacks options of the day:

  • cashew cookie larabar
  • some clementines
  • a trail mix combo I made

I usually go in snack “phases,” and right now I am definitely in a trail mix phase. It is fun, yet filling (the combination of nuts and dried fruit always keeps me full for a while), and I love mixing and matching ingredients.

It is probably one of my favorite snacks, and I am a big fan of making my own. I like to keep a bunch of different types dried fruit and nuts at my apartment, as well as a few different cereal options(I typically buy HUGE bags of almonds, walnuts and pecans at Costco and get my dried fruit from Trader Joes).  Pre-made trail mix tends to be pretty expensive,  but making them yourself is fun and cheap. Plus, you can switch up the combination whenever you want!  This combo has:

  • banana chips
  • dried apricots
  • golden raisins
  • walnuts
  • almonds
  • Cheerios

So that concludes my meal packing for the day. Still going strong!

I hope everyone has a great Friday!

Anyone pack anything exciting to eat today?

One response

  1. I normally really look forward to lunch, it helps me get through the morning when I want to rip my hair out from frustration with my kids but today I have a can of soup, a yogurt and an orange. Booooo. Give me some of your trail mix, along with those granola bars I previously asked for.

Leave a Reply

