Sweet + Salty Combinations

Hi everyone!

So when I packed my meals for school last Friday, I mentioned that I made myself a goat cheese and jelly sandwich for dinner. I just wanted to share that it was so good! I am thinking it was because:

  • I am a big fan of the sweet/salty combination
  •  It reminded me a lot of my favorite childhood breakfast (cream cheese and jelly on a plain bagel…try it if you never have. so good.).

Since I know I am a big fan of the particular combo of salty/savory + sweet (I love sea salt caramels and sea salt chocolate bars, trail mixes…), I started to brainstorm  more salty/sweet sandwich combinations.

So far I have thought of…

“salty” additions

  • cheese (goat, cream cheese, cheddar, provolone, etc.)
  • tempeh
  • beans
  • peanut butter/almond butter (?)

“sweet” additions

  • jelly
  • fresh fruit
  • honey/agave

Which led me to brainstorm these sandwich ideas:

  • goat cheese and jelly (cream cheese and jelly, etc.)….
  • tempeh/cheese and jelly (I’ve seen this combo on Kath and Meghann‘s blogs before but never tried it myself)
  • goat cheese, honey and strawberries (I may or may not be trying this out this week…)

annnd that’s all I’ve got so far. I know there has to be other options than  the “protein+ jelly” combo, but so far I’ve got nothing.   Beans would be an easy “salty” sandwich addition, but for some reason no “sweet” ingredient seems very fitting (beans + jelly? No thanks). Anyone have any ideas/suggestions?

Anyway, moving on to the food for the day (Meal packing day 3):

Lunch

For lunch I packed a spinach salad topped with carrots, zucchini, brown rice and a baked tofu/sweet potato/green bean mixture that my sister’s boyfriend brought over to our apartment (he is a pretty good cook, and I get to reap the benefits by getting to eat some of the food he brings my sister). I packed some balsamic vinegar to top it off and also plan to have a granny smith apple.

Breakdown:

1. brown rice (grain)

2. tofu (protein)

3. Spinach, carrots, zucchini, green beans, sweet potato (veggies)

Dinner

For dinner I have an “Italian-themed” sandwich that  includes meatless meatballs (from Trader Joes), hummus and spinach with some basil and oregano sprinkled on top. Kind of like a spin on a meatball sandwich/sub I suppose?

On the side I packed some veggies (peppers, carrots, celery) and a few clementines, which are not that great. I bought  “Cuties” at the store the other week and loved them, but my most recent Costco ones just don’t compare. Why are the “Cuties” better (anyone know what I am talking about)? It must be the cheesy commercials that win me over.

Breakdown:

1. whole grain bread (grains)

2. meatless meatballs, hummus (protein)

3. spinach, peppers, carrots, celery (veggies)

Snacks

My snacks of the day include

  • a trail mix that includes: cashews, apricots and Kashi Honey Sunshine cereal (this cereal used to be my favorite study snack in college, but I haven’t had it in so long)
  • an Iced Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Clif Z Bar –If you haven’t tried this flavor yet, DO IT. I just bought an entire box of them at Target yesterday and am pretty excited…
Everything together…

So that concludes my meals for the day! I am excited to try out my sandwich later, so this healthy/exciting meal packing plan is going well so far. Let’s just not take into account that I am excited to eat a sandwich at 8:00 in the morning…

I hope you have a great day!

Do you like the sweet/salty combo? Any sandwich suggestions?


5 responses

  1. Just yesterday I had a bowl of popcorn with York peppermint patty pieces in it! I’m a sucker for salty/sweet. My favorite sandwich is by far, cream cheese and jelly, a fav since kindergarten. Recently I’ve been packing turkey, avocado, hummus, cucumber and carrot. You could substitute the turkey if you please!

    • Sami was just saying that we should make popcorn and put chocolate chips on top… great minds think alike? That sandwich sounds delicious… do you use shredded carrots? I am thinking tofu/tempeh would be a good turkey replacement?

  2. Pingback: Things I’m Loving Right Now (Take 2) « Apples and Optimism

  3. Pingback: WIAW #4 (February 15, 2012) | Apples and Optimism

  4. Pingback: Best thing I packed this week (February 24, 2012) | Apples and Optimism

Leave a Reply

