Post-Run Beer?

I just came across an article posted on the Runner’s World website entitled, “7 Tasty Post-Run Beers.” While I usually don’t drink beer following a run (maybe I should start?), they did feature some delicious sounding beers that I have never heard of.

I know I have seen Tina and Theodora drink beer after long runs, and I did a 5k over the summer that had beer and champagne as one of the “water stations” (which was pretty fun), but since I tend to run only about 3-5 miles at a time, I think I will keep my beer drinking as a happy hour/weekend activity. If I did more long runs/training runs, I think I definitely would be a pro post-run beer drinker.  Any runners out there that are a fan of the post-run beer?

(The website also linked to another article that talks more in-depth about running and beer.. if  you’re interested.)

I have previously posted about my love of beer (and how I tend to classify it/order it), so I thought I’d list some of the featured types that I would like to try. Anyone ever heard of these?

(found through Runner’s World)

Harpoon Munich Dark

They describe this particular beer as balanced and not too heavy  with tastes of both coffee and molasses. It is made with dark grains that have similar antioxidants powers as red wine!

Stone Ruination IPA

This one is from Southern California and is described as one of the world’s hoppiest beers. I am a new hoppy beer lover, so I would love to try this out!

Smuttynose Old Brown Dog

They describe this beer as having a slightly sweet taste, thicker body, with tastes of  coffee,  cocoa and caramel. This microbrewery also supposedly sponsors a “Will Run for Beer” race series, which sounds pretty cool to me.

This is not a productive activity to be doing on a Tuesday afternoon.  Now I just want to go to Happy Hour, or maybe a long run…?

Anyone try a new beer recently and like to share? Any other post-run/workout activities you engage in?

 

One response

Leave a Reply

