WIAW #2 (February 1, 2012)

Hi there! Happy Wednesday! Can someone please explain to me,

  • How the is high for today is 50 degrees? It is so odd (but I am not complaining)….
  • How it is February 1 today (I swear it was just December)?

I always get excited for new months. I like to plan things to accomplish and ways to make the month fun. February already has some fun things built into it…. my boyfriend and I are celebrating our anniversary this month, it is his birthday month…. so I have a few things to look forward to and to plan (which I need to get on quickly, typing this out is making me realize that these things aren’t too far away!).

Anyway, I enjoyed doing this last week, so I thought I’d join the What I Ate Wednesday party again. Thanks Jenn for letting me participate!

Breakfast – 6:15 am

Yesterday for breakfast I had an odd craving for eggs. I usually never want savory things for breakfast (I am all about eating peanut butter and banana in some form), so I was a little surprised. I am not one to ignore a craving, so I just went with it. I had an omelette with:

  • egg whites
  •  peppers
  • mushrooms
  • zucchini
  • goat cheese

I always get a little excited when chopping vegetables, so I had an extra pile of extra omelette filling on the side, as well as a slice of whole wheat toast.

Snack 1: 9:15 am

For my mid-morning snack I had a handful of pistachios and a few pieces of chili dried mango (from Trader Joes). Both were pretty delicious and kept me quite content until lunch.

Lunch: 12:00 pm

For lunch I had a “pasta salad” – heavier on the veggies than the pasta, with some balsamic vinegar + honey on top. My salad contained:

  • spinach/kale (base)
  • peppers
  • zucchini
  • carrot
  • whole grain pasta
  • white beans
  • goat cheese

I also had a Fugi apple on the side as well. I am usually a big Pink Lady/Honeycrisp fan because they have the perfect tart/sweet balance and  the right amount of crunch that is necessary in an apple.  I have been pleasantly surprised by how much I have been liking my Fugi apples this week.  (I have a slight obsession with apples if you can’t tell….).

Snack: 3:30 pm

As my afternoon snack I had a (brand new!) Uber Larabar in the Bananas Foster flavor. I was pretty excited when I spotted these in Whole Foods last Friday, since I have a definite love of  bars (Larabar, Clif Bars, Kind Bars…) and I’ve never seen these (anyone else have one yet?)!

I must say, it was rather delicious. It tastes like the normal banana bread flavor, but has a good amount of crunch and texture from the addition of whole walnuts, almonds, and pecans. I would definitely recommend it. I also tried my sister’s Cherry Cobbler on Sunday, and it was equally as good. There are a few more ingredients in these than the normal Larabar flavors:

but it was soooo good. I am a new fan of the Uber bar. Now I just need to try the Roasted Nut Roll and Apple Turnover flavors…

Dinner: 5:45 pm

I ate dinner before going to the gym, so I tried to keep it rather light. Its weird, I can eat before going to the gym in the morning and have no problem at all, but, for some reason, at night I have issues. Maybe it’s what I’m eating vs. when I’m eating? Who knows. I’m working on finding a good balance.

I had a veggie burger on a piece of whole grain toast with romaine, broccoli sprouts,and hummus and also had some sautéed broccoli and cauliflower on the side.

Snack/Dessert: 9:00 pm

I almost always have to have something sweet at the end of the day. It is like my day is not complete without it. Last night I had some cottage cheese (4% – which is really good, by the way – its so creamy!) with pumpkin, peanut butter and some crushed Kashi Honey Sunshine cereal on top.

I haven’t had pumpkin in a while and was a little “pumpkin-ed” out in the fall, but this was really good. I think I may need to bring it back for a while longer. The pumpkin + peanut butter combo never seems to fail me.

So that concludes WIAW. I kind of love seeing what other people eat (it’s why I became so interested/fascinated by blogs), so I’m glad that this little tradition exists and that I can take part. Thanks again Peas and Crayons!

Have a great day everyone!

What’s the best thing you ate yesterday?

4 responses

Leave a Reply

