Things I’ve learned this weekend…

1. Three  years can go by really fast….

My boyfriend, Jon, and I celebrated our 3 year anniversary yesterday. I honestly can’t  believe it has been that long…. I feel like we just met next to the keg in the basement of that lovely college apartment where neither of us knew anyone…

While our relationship has evolved quite a bit over the years, he still makes me laugh everyday, is always my #1 fan, and I love him now more than ever. I don’t know what I’d do without him.

I love you Jon! Happy 3 years!

2. I want to be Ina Garten

Yesterday afternoon, Sami (my sister) and I made and brought lunch over to our friend Erin’s house to have a lunch/homework “party” (Hi Erin and Erin!). From reading my blog(!) and seeing Sami’s lunches during breaks from class (Erin is in Sami’s grad program), she was interested in having a Dana/Sami-inspired salad. I, of course, was happy to bring over some healthy and delicious food for us to enjoy (since I do want to start a lunch-packing service), and packed us some Asian-themed salads.

Asian-themed salads with edamame, cabbage, carrots, mushrooms, snap peas, teriakyi tofu, brown rice, sesame seeds....

I felt a lot like Ina Garten, since she always seems to be whipping up and packing food to-go for special occasions. I won’t lie, I am a big fan of hers, and I kind of liked channeling my inner Barefoot Contessa yesterday. I love packing lunches for myself and for others, and if it were possible for me to make a living traveling around and making people healthy/colorful/delicious lunches and snacks, I totally would do it.

I need Ina to come give me some tips….

3. Bulgur wheat is a delicious oatmeal alternative

1/4 c bulgur, 1/4 c oats, 1 c almond milk, 1/2 banana, big scoop pb

Yesterday morning, I tweaked my normal oatmeal/banana/peanut butter breakfast by replacing a 1/4 cup of my normal oatmeal serving with a 1/4 cup of some bulgur wheat (that I got in the bulk bins at Whole Foods).  I first read about this grain over at Carrots ‘n Cake, and it is a great grain to enjoy for breakfast (here is some info about it if you’re interested). It is a bit chewier than rolled oats, but I find that combining it with oats creates a great combination of texture. It is a great way to switch up breakfast and  incorporate fun, new, and healthy grains into your diet! I really enjoyed this breakfast yesterday. (Note to self: eat more bulgur for breakfast!)

I  hope you are having a great weekend!

Anything you have “learned this weekend?”

Any types of grains you like to enjoy for breakfast other than oatmeal? I have tried using barley and quinoa as alternative breakfast grains before, and I know Bethenny has a brown rice breakfast that I tried a few years ago…

6 responses

  1. 1. Those pictures of you and Jon made my heart melt a little. Shh dont tell. Happy Anniversary!

    2. Ina Garten is the bees knees (seriously the first phrase that came into my mind to replace profanity).

    3. You make me proud every day.

    • I think I will also use this list format…
      1. I literally told Dana yesterday that her and Jon make my ‘heart melt a little’ (Lindsay…either great minds think alike or we need to be more creative and come up with more original sayings)
      2. I am very proud Nikki! I always support taking time for yourself!
      3. You may want some more oatmeal to go with your PB Dane haha…

  2. Happy anniversary!!!! I have no idea who Ina Garten is, but she looks spectacular. I learned to create “me” time this weekend and how important it really is to take time for yourself. I thought of you and Sami yesterday as I came to this revelation, something I thought you two would be proud of me for 🙂

  3. I just want to say that I think you could make some serious money with this lunch-packing idea. Even if I am your only customer, I think I would “order” from you enough to make it a profitable business. Thanks again for the delicious lunch! Perfect after Body Pump 🙂

  4. Pingback: WIAW #4 (February 15, 2012) | Apples and Optimism

Leave a Reply

