Cherry Garden (aka Cherry Pineapple Coconut) cupcakes

So I have a fun dessert creation for you today!  Since it was my boyfriend’s birthday yesterday, I decided to bake him some cupcakes to celebrate the occasion. Jon is a big fan of all things pineapple- flavored and since his favorite ice cream flavor is Cherry Garden (which is impossible to find….but contains pineapple, cherry and coconut), I used the flavors of pineapple,  coconut and cherry as my “inspiration.”

For Jon’s last two birthdays I actually “made” his favorite ice cream for him, meaning I:

  1. bought vanilla ice cream
  2. took it out of the carton
  3. added pineapple chunks, shredded coconut, and marachino cherries
  4. put the new creation back into the original carton
  5. Created a label (complete with badly drawn cherries, of course) that read “Cherry Garden”

I’m pretty sure I could give Sandra Lee a run for her money….

But this year, I thought I’d switch things up and go the cake (vs. ice cream) route. I decided to make a Cherry Garden-inspired cupcake creation. While browsing on Pinterest the other week I came across a recipe for Pineapple Fluff cupcakes, so I stuck to the cake portion of that recipe (sticking maraschino cherries into the batter as well), and made a semi-homemade version of coconut  whipped cream frosting.

These cupcakes contain no added butter or oil (except for the frosting…) and the actual cake only contains 2 ingredients: cake mix and crushed pineapple (I am always amazed that this is possible – I am a fan of using canned pumpkin in cakes as well). Overall, the cupcakes only require only 5 ingredients!

These  made my apartment smell amazing, and I must say that despite my general preference to cooking vs. baking, I really enjoyed making these.  They were super easy and seemed so festive. They would be perfect for a tropical themed party.

I think I may need more occasions to come up that give me an excuse to make fun dessert creations. The wheels are turning….

Cherry Garden Cupcakes

(adapted/inspired from Pineapple Fluff Cupcakes)

ignore the eggs... I didn't end up needing them

Ingredients:

  • Yellow cake mix
  • 1 can (20 oz.) crushed pineapple
  • 1 container whipped cream frosting (any other vanilla-type frosting would work as well)
  • shredded coconut
  • maraschino cherries
  • yellow sprinkles (optional – and not pictured)

Cupcakes

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Combine cake mix and crushed pineapple
  3.  Distribute  mixture into lined cupcake tins (should make about 24 cupcakes)
  4. Add a maraschino cherry into the batter of each cupcake (optional)
  5. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean (mine were a little underbaked at 15 minutes, so make sure you check on them to make sure they are done)

Frosting

  1. Empty container of frosting into a medium-sized bowl
  2. Mix in 1/2 – 1 cup of shredded coconut into frosting
  3. Once cool, frost cupcakes
  4. Garnish with more shredded coconut, a maraschino cherry (I garnished each with 1/2 of a cherry), and yellow sprinkles

3 responses

  1. Jon and I must have similar tastes. That cupcake sounds amazing (and I would like some of that cherry garden ice cream on the side. It sounds good!) and I want one.

    I didnt know you could bake too!

    • I just have to say that I think that ice cream sounds so good that I googled where to get it.

      I may have to make the hour trip to Barto, PA to Longacres Dairy to get some Cherry Garden. Tell Jon i’d be happy to bring some back. Either that or I’ll end up at Tanners for banana. Yum.

  2. I’m finally back in action with commenting! I have a lot to make up for! Do you want to be my girlfriend and bake me things for my birthday?! Yummmm! Happy belated, Jon!

Leave a Reply

