From beer to collard greens

Hi there, happy Monday! I hope you had a great weekend! And if you are like most of my friends… I hope you are having a lovely spring break so far (I am jealous…).

Soo lets chat about the weekend, shall we? Mine was pretty good, since my stepbrother, Timmy, came out to visit! We had a fun and delicious food/alcohol filled weekend, and I may or may not have pretended that I was my undergrad self again…. even though I cannot drink like I used to (which is probably a good thing…..) and have the worst hangovers these days. How did I used to go out so often? I don’t know how it was physically possible…. I feel like such a grandma these days when I am feel good at 2 drinks….

Some scenes from the weekend….


While I love weekends like these that include late nights, pizza (pizza at 2 am is ALWAYS delicious…), fun cocktails and pancakes (I had some banana oatmeal pancakes from the Dorstop yesterday morning…. SO GOOD), I usually end up feeling a little lethargic and let’s just say…. not my best by the end of it all. While I usually like to practice self-control and moderation on a daily basis, sometimes it’s just fun to throw caution to the wind and have sangria and pizza and beer and pancakes all in a short 24 hour period…..

While this is a delicious and fun thing to do, it doesn’t always leave me feeling energetic and ready to tackle the upcoming week. I love having these indulgent weekends and enjoying every moment of it all, but I also love using the upcoming work week to practice some healthier habits and get some clean food back in my life. I like to go to the grocery store and load up on delicious foods to get excited about. Besides buying a  huge bag of kale the size of my head (I am obsessed these days) at the store yesterday, a few other things I am excited to eat/use/experiment with include:

1. Collard greens (I am imagining using these as some sort of wrap possibly?)… I’ve never tried collard greens before so I am excited to experiment

source

2. Grapes… they were on sale!

source

3. A new salad dressing….

4. Some new Chobani flavors (raspberry and strawberry banana) I LOVE the strawberry banana flavor (its so creamy!), but have never tried raspberry! I’ve been on a flavored greek yogurt kick for the last few weeks if you can’t tell….

I hope you are having a great Monday so far.

How was your weekend?

What are you excited to eat this week?

Any new healthy purchases you’re excited about?

2 responses

Leave a Reply

