WIAW #7 (March 7, 2012)

Hi there, Happy What I Ate Wednesday!

The theme for this month is all about going green! I am all about adding as much green to my meals as possible so, I must say, I am a fan of the theme.

Breakfast: 6:00 am

For breakfast yesterday morning I was more in a savoy vs. sweet mood, so I decided to have an egg and cheese wrap. My initial intentions failed since I ended up toasting my whole wheat wrap for a bit too long in the toaster oven, making it crispy and completely unfoldable… oops. I had to improvise and ended up having an egg breakfast “pizza” rather than a wrap. My “pizza” contained:

  • about 2 tsp of strawberry jelly (spread on first)
  • 2 scrambled eggs
  • 1 slice of pepper jack cheese
  • 1 handful of sautéed kale

I added the kale last-minute since it seemed like my meal needed some color to liven it up (plus I always like to include a fruit or vegetable in all my meals whenever possible). This ended up being quite delicious… and I think better than my original idea. I loved the sweet and salty combo of the jelly and cheese/eggs and I kind of liked the accidental crispy texture of the wrap.

Snack: 9:00 am

Mid-morning, I snacked on a mixture of raisins, pecans, walnuts and roasted soy nut. I am loving adding roasted soy nuts to trail mixes these days (and adding them as a crunchy addition to stir-fries and salads…).

Lunch: 12:00 pm

My lunch was SO good yesterday, I am pretty excited to share it. Sami (my sister) actually made this for me so I can’t take the credit. She made black bean sweet potato collard wraps (she found the recipe at For the Love of Kale… a new blog find I have been loving, by the way). We bought collard greens at the store this past weekend and we both had the idea of using the greens in some type of wrap form. It must have been fate because Heather posted the recipe this week as well….

I HIGHLY recommend these… they were so delicious and so fun to eat. Sami followed the recipe exactly, only microwaving the sweet potato vs. roasting it. These were especially good with a little squeeze of lime and dipped in salsa (plus they are a great way to add some green into your life in a fun/interesting way!).

I also had some carrot sticks, zucchini slices and some grapes with my lunch as well.

Snack: 3:00 pm

For my afternoon snack I had a Cherry Pie Larabar and a Fugi apple while I was still at work.

Dinner: 5:15 pm

I ate dinner before heading to the gym, so I tried to keep it rather light. I apologize that this looks extremely unappetizing (lentils are definitely not the most photogenic of foods), but it was delicious, I swear. I had a piece of whole wheat toast topped with:

  • hummus
  • lentils (1/2 cup)
  • a squeeze of lemon

Hummus + lemon + lentils is a delicious combination… If you were curious.

I also had some steamed broccoli and carrots on the side to add in some green.

Snack: 8:30 pm

After the gym and while I studied for a Bio test (my second exam is today.. I hope I’m ready!), I had a plain Chobani yogurt sweetened with a little stevia and topped with some chopped dried apricots and golden raisins.

Annd that concludes my meals from the day (meaning yesterday…).Thanks Jenn for hosting another installment of WIAW! I love participating!

I hope you have a great day!

6 responses

  1. some tasty eats there! i actually love when a the wrap tortilla gets crunchy and you have a small pizza. looks delicious anyways!
    at the moment i have to have my dinners super early too since i am teaching yoga every evening this week. i am so ready to have a nice long dinner after 7pm and not having to go anywhere.

    the black been collard wraps look so delicious, i gotta make them this weekend!

    • I definitely recommend the wraps, they were so good! And I am with you on the early dinner dilemma… I LOVE it when I can just sit down and relax when I am eating a meal (especially since it happens to rarely these days!) Have a great day!

  2. Hopping over from the WIAW link party. You lunch looks just too tasty!! I can’t wait to try it, thanks for sharing For the Love of Kale, it’s just what I need to boost my enthusiasm for healthier eating!

  3. New reader here 🙂
    Random strange question- is your lunch in an old Chinese food container? lol that’s what ours look like here, and I always save them for leftovers.
    Also, I’ve never paired jelly with eggs before. I admit, it sounds strange.. but I think I may try it. I have raspberry jam, wonder how that would work? It sounds oddly pleasing.

    • Hi! Thanks for stopping by 🙂 and yes, I believe it is an old Chinese food container… it’s the perfect size for salads though!

      Also, raspberry jam could definitely work! I initially got the idea to pair jelly and eggs from Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers, and I initially thought it was strange too…. but it is oddly the perfect combination of savory and sweet. Let me know if you try it out!

Leave a Reply

